Joellen Killion

Learning Forward, Lakeway, TX

Joellen is the former deputy executive director of and currently senior advisor to Learning Forward. Killion has extensive experience in professional learning planning, design, implementation, and evaluation at the school and system levels. Her most recent books include Taking the Lead: New Roles for Teachers and School-Based Coaches, 2ndEdition(Learning Forward, 2017) with Cindy Harrison; Assessing Impact: Evaluating Staff Development, 3rdEdition(Corwin Press & Learning Forward, 2017); The Feedback Process: Transforming Feedback for Professional Learning(Learning Forward, 2015); Coaching Matters (Learning Forward, 2012), coauthored with Cindy Harrison, Chris Bryan, and Heather Clifton; and Becoming a Learning School(NSDC, 2009), coauthored with Patricia Roy. She has authored numerous articles and books on professional learning and the Research Review column for The Learning Professional. She directed multiple association initiatives including Results-Based Staff Development, Demonstrating the Impact, the third edition of the Standards for Professional Learning, the development of the innovation configuration maps, and Transforming Professional Learning initiative.

Learning Forward’s Annual Conference is my absolute favorite conference. It always provides me with inspiration, tools and new contacts to help further my learning and thus the quality of professional learning at my school.

— Kate Cottrell

The level of intellectual stimulation and dialogue is unparalleled. There is always someone nearby or at your table who can help process new ideas or help you think about how what you’re hearing applies to your work. The balance of research and application is really nice. Getting to hear from top authors about their current projects helps me feel very informed so that I can feel abreast of current trends in the professional learning field. At the same time, the balance of topics that are “oldies but goodies” is nice because there are always new practitioners joining the conference.

— 2018 Attendee